top of page

Junior Preparedness through Health Science 2 With Emily Irving

Throughout Health Science 2, I am able to gain multiple certifications (CPR, choking, OSHA, and Stop the Bleed). Through these certifications, I develop certain skills such as interview/resume building. These skills are vital for preparing for the workplace and completing various projects (Health Fair, Biomedical Dilemma, and Biomedical Debate). My favorite part of the course so far has been the CPR/choking clinical. I got the opportunity to work with people in my class and learn a beneficial skill that I can use to save someone else's life. 

During this course, my classmates and I focused on resumes, cover letters, and interview skills, allowing us to feel confident while searching for an internship. As someone who is typically nervous while doing interviews, I found that the practicing we did in class eased my nerves and I felt extremely prepared for everything that the interviewers asked me. The Biomedical Dilemma project, in which I accessed the pros and cons of a certain ethical dilemma in healthcare, let me have more of an open mind to such debates. This project was very useful because medicine is not always one-sided. As a healthcare professional, it is important to understand and respect viewpoints that differ from my own. Health Science 2 will teach you many skills that will benefit your career as a healthcare professional, and skills that will benefit you in general. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page