top of page

Cary Cardiology Job Shadowing

On October 31st, I visited Cary Cardiology to complete my job shadowing requirement for MBSA. My job shadowing shift was from 8:30 to 12:30. When I arrived, I was greeted by a scarecrow and a lion. Since it was Halloween, most of the staff decided to dress up to celebrate the holiday. The nurses in the suite all dressed up as a fairy representing different social media platforms, like the twitter or snapchat fairies. The cheery attitude of the nurses helped complete the fairy costume. Seeing everyone dressed up and showing their halloween spirit allowed me to see that even though they had to go to work, they found a way to make their job more enjoyable on the holiday.

I shadowed Dr. Pratik Desai. I sat in the examination room and observed as he met with patients. A lot of people ended up cancelling their appointments for that day, but the patients that he did meet with I could see him implementing the concepts that I learned about in Health Science II, like communication and teamwork skills. I also went and observed the exercise stress tests that were performed on the patients. They were hooked up to an EKG so that their heart rates and rhythm could be recorded.

After that, I had lunch with the doctors. They had gotten Chinese food delivered to the office and invited me to join them in the break room. While we ate our food, we had a discussion about opportunities in high school to prepare students for the medical field. It was a very engaging conversation, and I enjoyed myself. I believe that even though I didn't get to experience much of the typical medical things that students see while job shadowing, I was still able to learn about how the day works in the office.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page